Come and grow – the spoga+gafa blog » garden unique » Unique Youngstar Contest: The Nominees Have Been Selected

Unique Youngstar Contest: The Nominees Have Been Selected

Visitors of the spoga+gafa this year will again have the chance to witness the young designer competition of the garden unique segment at the fair.

62 projects from 24 countries applied for the contest and the expert jury has now nominated 15 ideas for the title “unique Youngstar 2013”. The jury’s decisions are based on the following criteria: overall concept, originality of design, conceptual and visual quality, functionality and the quality of presentation.

The jury ultimately chose the following finalists:

  • “Micro Greenhouse” by Åsa Agerstam (Sweden)
  • “Polyfine” by Markus Bangerter (Switzerland)
  •  “Ter” by Álvaro Fernández-Goula and Pablo Figuera (Spain)
  • “Watercabinet” by Francien Hazen (Netherlands)
  • “PFLIX” by Christian Heufelder (Germany)
  •  “CONTIO” by Matilda Lindblom (Sweden)
  •  “Flask” and “Circle” by Konrad Lohöfener (Germany)
  •  “herbs outdoors” by Inesa Malafej (Denmark)
  •  “AR VAG” by Thibault Penven (Switzerland)
  • “Stakes-outdoor grill” by Roee Magdassi (Israel)
  • “FLEET” by Carolin Thieme (Germany)
  • “Black Dogs” de Yves Verhaegen (Belgium)
  •  “Klemmbrett Bank” by Manuel Welsky (Germany)
  • “Hochbeet” (raised flower bed) by Cosima Geyer, Tim Mackerodt, Simon Frambach, Sandra Spoo and Saskia Drebes (Germany).

The competition once again boasted a prestigious panel of judges in 2013, comprising of the following experts: Tobias Lutz, founder and CEO of Architonic AG; Marcus Fairs, Chief Editor of dezeen; Eric Degenhardt, designer at Studio Eric Degenhardt; Karen Bofinger, Editor of the Architectural Digest, Camila Vega Faba and Harry Paul van Ierssel, both designers and co-founders of Harry&Camila.

The prototypes of the designs of the 15 nominees will be exhibited at the spoga+gafa 2013 in the exclusive “garden unique” sector for the duration of the fair.  The three winners can look forward to prize-money of 3,000 Euros (1st prize), 2,000 Euros (2nd prize) and 1,000 Euros (3rd prize) respectively. Additionally all participants have the chance to win the prize of the public. From May 24th to September 8th, the nominees will be presented on the award’s website and you will have the chance to cast your online vote for your favorite.

The results of the three prizes awarded by the jury and of the prize selected by the public will be announced at 5 pm on September 8th, in Hall 10.2 during the “unique hour”. Details about the nominees can be found here (PDF)

 Further Information:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *