Come and grow – the spoga+gafa blog » garden unique » unique youngstar 2014: Here are the Nominees

unique youngstar 2014: Here are the Nominees

51 entries from 18 countries: That is the result of this year’s young designer competition, unique youngstar. The five members of the expert jury have now selected the 16 nominated products of 15 young designers.

They now all have the chance to win the unique youngstar 2014 title and thus prize-money totalling 6,000 EUR. In addition to the nomination, the young creatives can already look forward to being able to showcase their idea on the competition theme ‘Outdoor Living’ at the spoga+gafa from 31 August to 2 September. The prototypes will be on display in the exhibition zone garden unique in Hall 10.2. The festive award-ceremony of the three jury prizes and the public prize will take place at 05:00 p.m. on 31.08 during the unique hour.

Since February, young designers and design students, who have completed their studies within the past three years, can submit their ideas on ‘Outdoor Living’. The diverse variety of the submitted, creative ideas ranged from outdoor furniture, accessories or shade-bringing products, to outdoor lamps or plant pots, through to grills, which certainly didn’t make the job of selecting the 16 nominees easy for the jury. The jury’s appraisal was based on the criteria: the overall concept, the originality of the design, the conceptual and visionary quality, the functionality, and quality of presentation.

These are the nominees:

  • „Slucerna“ by Sebastian Strauch (Germany)
  • „Garden chair“ by Bogoje Bojovic (Serbia)
  • „Beta Chair“ by Dustin Jessen (Great Britain)
  • „BEATSPOT“ by Claudia Dolbniak and Silvia Saure (Germany)
  • „Relax“ by Toni Bettermann (Germany)
  • „Octo.puz“ and „exTENTed“ by Elisabeth Seyferth and Anja Wippler (Germany)
  • „Biertischgrill“ by Isabelle Enders (Germany)
  • „Dear o’ Deer“ by Rohan Chhabra and Kriti Chaudhary (India)
  • Kawara Bench“ by Tsuyoshi Hayashi (Japan)
  • „PflanzMobil“ by Ronja Leine and Elisa Kirbst (Germany)
  • „Garden Elements” by Vincent Bos (Netherlands)
  • „Bridge“ by Arthur Analts and Rudolph Strelis (Latvia/UK)
  • „Giessbert“ by Valeria Santagati-Juraschek, Sarah Voigt and Niclas-Mael Garotti (Germany)
  • „Up“ by Stefano Triaca and Philippe Jakot (Switzerland)
  • „POD“ by Sujay Das (India)
  • „ExTENTed“ by Elisabeth Seyferth and Anja Wippler (Germany)

The members of the expert jury are:

  • Gerhard World, proprietor of Funktion Möbel
  • Eric Degenhardt, designer at Studio Eric Degenhardt
  • Camila Vega Faba and Harry Paul van Lerssel, both designers and co-founders of Harry & Camila and the AD Architectural Digest

Further Information: and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *