Come and grow – the spoga+gafa blog » garden unique » Award winners: unique youngstars 2015 have been selected

Award winners: unique youngstars 2015 have been selected

At 4:00 p.m. on the first day of spoga+gafa 2015 one of the first highlights was on the (supporting) programme in the garden unique Lounge: The announcement of the unique youngstars. In the scope of the unique hour, the prizes for the best ideas of young aspiring designers on the theme Outdoor Living were selected from among the 16 nominated products.

Three jury prizes and a public prize were up for grabs. The prize is endowed with a total of 6,000 euros in prize-money. In 2015, 75 entries from 32 countries were submitted to the creative design competition. The prototypes of all 16 ideas nominated by the expert jury will be exhibited in Hall 10.2 throughout the duration of the trade fair. The table ‘snak’, designed by Gunnar Søren Petersen (Germany) convinced the expert jury the most, securing first place and thus the title unique youngstar 2015. The ‘snak camping’ table convinced the Jury through its intelligent design concerning clever details of construction and an optimized use of materials. It shows a really new of approach of designing a nice looking camping table while maintaining a high utility.

Renaud Defrancesco (Switzerland) came second with ‘Boots shears’ and thus also secured himself a place on the winners’ rostrum. The idea of the ‘Boots shears’ is absolutely surprising that the Jury could not imagine that nobody came up with this idea before. By joining a tool holder to the boots the boots shears become an efficient solution that considers the ergonomics of working in the garden.

Third place went to Lorenz Schott and Michael Leßmöllmann (Germany) with ‘Vegrack’. As a technical growing system for useful plants the ‘Vegrack’ serves the needs for Urban gardeners missing a balcony or a bed. Due to its efficient use of space and resources it offers an indoor opportunity for planting and harvesting vegetables and herbs.

The stool ‘Arko’ by Aditya Khutale (India) came out on top in the running for the public prize. Interested parties were able to place their vote for one of the 16 finalists per online voting on the campaign homepage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *